Wonderful Surprises!

cropped-week-of-july-14-057.jpg

This week something very exciting happened. But before I can share what it was, I should give some background.

Since October 2014, I have been taking an online art class, learning to draw with teacher Mark Kistler, and have learned a lot about graphite art and how to make things look 3-dimensional instead of flat.

Here's what I used to draw....
Here’s what I used to draw….
GGKoch0002a (Large)
This is what I learned in his December class

I recently discovered that since I am a paying member of his class, I have access to the live video lessons of Acrylic painter Ginger Cook, who is a fantastic artist. You should see the things she paints!

Now, you may not know this, but I have dreamed of painting landscapes and God’s creation for years, and I love to paint flowers, which I learned from a couple of books. (Homeschooling at work!) So when I learned that I had access to this class that uses my favorite media of paint -acrylic- with landscapes and realistic nature being the focus of her talent of teaching, I worked it out with Mom so that I could do the Wednesday morning live class on Mark Kistler’s website. While the rest of the adult ladies in my family were at Bible Study Fellowship, and I was at home doing school, I got to learn how to paint for an hour!

I absolutely loved painting, and learned tons from all the tips and ‘tricks’ she drops in each class session. Here’s an example of what kinds of paintings she teaches.

Painting and drawing 007 (Large)
I did this in less than an hour.

 

At first I was really bad at all of it, and it looked awful, but I got better, and wanted to get advice about a few things. Now, with it being a live class, if a student has a camera on their computer, like for Skype, they can show their painting “in” class, and get advice. Well, we don’t have a camera. On our computer, anyway….. So I went to the camera we did have, and sent her an email with a picture of this painting I did for a friend of the family who needed some house decor that wasn’t white. 🙂 I wanted her advice, and she kindly gave it, in class!

week of April 26 008 (Large)

I later sent her another email with three other pictures of paintings I had done in her class -including the apple above and penguin below-, and included questions about what I should work on. She kindly answered with encouragement and tips. She really liked my penguin, and even shared it on her Pinterest page.

Painting and drawing 004 (Large)

Bible Study Fellowship ended and now the computer isn’t as free on Wednesday mornings. But it usually works out okay, with few interruptions, so I keep at it.  In this week’s class on Wednesday, she shocked me with words I never expected in a million years.

She said that I had done a nice job on my paintings, even though I only had one hour to do them in the live classes, and that I had shown determination by sticking with it as long as I had. Then for the shocker:

She gave me a FREE SCHOLARSHIP to her archived video library! I was so surprised! And when I later logged in to the site, I found that I am a member of her video lesson library AND her Wave and Water master class. So not only did she bless me with one class, but she gave me two!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I was thinking about her generosity (This is approximately a $150 value) and how grateful I am that I will be able to grow in the talent that God has given me for art, I thought about this verse I have almost memorized and hear often from my Pastor:

 “Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us,  to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” Ephesians 3:20-21 (NKJV)

Of course, this is not referring specifically to my situation, but God showed His heart of love and caring for me personally in this wonderful blessing. This is one of the evidences to me that He cares for His children individually. This is a wonderful evidence to me of His grace in my life. He has given me something I don’t deserve, just because He can, and loves me! Isn’t that amazing?

Cosmos

I had been wondering about how I was going to continue doing the class on such an inflexible schedule in the summer on a busy farm, and had kind of prayed about it, but I hadn’t really consciously prayed about it more than in passing. But to ask for this?

Nope. Never even crossed my mind.

God is so good!

Do you have something you’ve been wondering about? Worrying over? Praying for? Just think what God can do: if He answers my “wonderings” over an art class, what might He do for you? Just wait patiently for Him and watch what He does ….

for you!

“I waited patiently for the Lord;
And He inclined to me,
And heard my cry.” -Psalm 40:1

 

“Delight yourself also in the Lord,
And He shall give you the desires of your heart.

Commit your way to the Lord,
Trust also in Him,
And He shall bring it to pass.” -Psalm 37:4-5

 

Side note: As always, it’s great to look up the context of all the verses quoted for further understanding. Read the whole passage to discover the truths of God’s Word for your life!

 

Leave a Reply

