My progress in art

I know a lot of you are interested in my painting, so I thought I would update you.

Here’s one of my earlier paintings, and I’ll progress roughly chronologically from here.

Week of June 7 028
Desert scene painted in an art class
Rock Hopper Penguin
Rock Hopper Penguin
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Bird of Paradise plant. I really like this one!

Painting and drawing 007 (Large)My first try at an apple.

This is a painting I did for a friend of the family, at his request.

This is a painting I did for a friend of the family, at his request. I had a lot of fun doing it.

This was a class on butterflies, using as few colors as possible.

This was a class on butterflies, using as few colors as possible.

I enjoyed painting this scene in one night before it was given to a friend.

I enjoyed painting this scene for my sister Faith.

Study of a tree in art class
Study of a tree in art class

This beautiful Pansy was a ton of fun. I've always loved flowers, and had painted them before, but pansies intimidated me. So when Ginger Cook had an art class with one, I was thrilled little did I know what would happen next!

This beautiful Pansy was a ton of fun. I’ve always loved flowers, and had painted them before, but pansies intimidated me. So when Ginger Cook had an art class with one, I was thrilled! Little did I know what would happen next!

I was shocked to see my pansy labeled as best of show at the LaCrosse County Fair!

I was shocked to see my pansy labeled as best of show at the LaCrosse County Fair!

Especially since I was expecting this painting to get a better rating than a simple flower.

Especially since I was expecting this painting to get a better rating than a simple flower.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis “painting” was mostly done with a palette knife. It certainly stretched my horizons, as I had never used a palette knife much. It has really neat texture, which of course you can’t see in a picture.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This one was so fun! I enjoyed the colors and the beautiful simplicity of my art teacher’s painting.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I didn’t work quite as hard on this one, but it’s still pretty.

There’s a round-up of a lot of the paintings I did in the art class of Ginger Cook. I have a few more to share at another time, though, and I’m also working on a few of my own paintings.

I am praying that my focus would not be on painting, or getting man’s praise for them, but that I can glorify Christ and His work on the Cross. I want to do that through painting, yes, but also through so many other things. Someday I hope to illustrate biblical things, and not just do my own art for my own purposes. I want God to be glorified. I also want to help others appreciate His creation, and if I can do that through painting it, that’s wonderful!

If you would, please pray that I can keep God as my focus, and not my painting, or anything else. I really appreciate your prayers.

Blessings,

Naomi

Leave a Reply

