Simplicity

Don’t you like that word? I do.

Week of July 28 030

That is what my family has always aimed for – a simple, uncomplicated life.

I think that simplicity is really a mindset, and not necessarily that we are not busy. Trust me, I am busy all the time! But when I have the mindset of a specific goal, and how to go about reaching it, that goal becomes very simple.

For example, right now I am working on finishing school. (Forever! No more School! Okay, okay, not really. That’s just my unrealistic silliness.)

But I digress.

So to finish school, I need to concentrate on doing it, and enjoy learning the wonderful things that are in my schoolwork. And when other things come up, like garden work, or doing something for a family member who needs help, or even just reading a book to my little brother, I quickly run through the thought process of, “Okay, I’ve read half a chapter in The Genesis Record, Mom read a chapter in the book we’re studying together, and I painted for the day. Yup, I have time for that.” And I look up, smile, and say “Sure!” (Ummm, that’s in the world of perfect me, mind you. I don’t always smile and sound so enthusiastic! Something to work on.)

Now, in the bigger picture of life, I have a harder time maintaining a simple mindset. Life does get complicated. How do I balance getting school done this school year with the growing conviction and urgency of sharing the gospel with those who don’t know the Savior? How do I go about doing that in the country where I’m just a girl on a farm? I don’t have many friends (another area where I prize simplicity!) and the ones I have are believers, or know the truth already and are really good pretenders. So who can I share the gospel with who doesn’t know the truth of our amazing Savior?

I have a passion for lost souls, and it’s hard for me to see people without also seeing how lost they are. Just a simple drive down the highway causes my heart to cry out “How many of these vehicles are filled with people headed on their last drive before eternity? How many even know who Jesus is and what He did for them to reconcile their sinful souls with a holy and just God?”

But how does a simple, somewhat reserved farm girl go about sharing the truth with people? Honestly, I have very few ideas. One of them is right here, on this blog. But how many people read it, not to mention how much am I impacting them?

That’s where I need to realize God’s power through me. I am a weak vessel, but He is a strong God. I am an inexperienced young person, but He uses the foolish of the world to convict the wise and learned. Oh, my. How amazing He is!

God has the power to create such beauty! Can He not also use me?
God has the power to create such beauty! Can He not also use me?

This is where I need simplicity! I need to remember this one thing: God can use me, in all my weakness, because HE is STRONG. All else? Well, it doesn’t really matter. As long as I have a willing and a ready heart, He’ll use me. I will still look for ways and ideas to share, but I also need to just be open to His plan. When He says “Speak”, I need to just speak.

Wow. That is hard.

But with God’s power, my tongue will loosen, and I will glorify Him and obey.

Would you please pray for me? I need help from God to overcome my fears, and your prayers are so appreciated as I continue to strive for…

Simplicity – in Christ.

3 thoughts on “Simplicity

  1. Faith Blum October 3, 2015 / 11:07 am

    Wow. I love your definition of simplicity, Naomi. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. sometruckdriver October 3, 2015 / 4:18 pm

    I wish my smartphone was more simple. It has managed to out smart me yet again. Oh, yeh, love your take on simplicity. I’ll try some of your suggestions. Richard

    Like

    • Naomi October 3, 2015 / 11:15 pm

      Thanks Richard! I didn’t realize you knew I had a blog! I’ve heard that smartphones are pretty smart, but I didn’t know they were THAT smart. Yikes! Glad I don’t have one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

